Inspirations from the Emmy Awards

September 18, 2007 at 7:00 pm Leave a comment

On Monday, I slept at 1 a.m. and woke up at 5 just to make sure I wouldn’t miss the Emmy Awards live on Channel 76, only to find out later that they have repeats all throughout the day. Didn’t want to miss it since I would have to leave for work you see.  

Strapless and mermaid cuts seemed to be the choice for many of the stars that evening, with white, red, black and gold among the favourites. If you need a little omphh for a customised dress for that special occassion, look to the leading red carpet celebs at the Emmy’s for some inspiration. These are my favourite picks, arranged in colour-coordinated sequence.

So Rockin’ in Blue

Blue

America Ferrera in a royal blue Monique L’Huillier gown (sorry for my ignorance, but siapa- leh designer ni?) and Portia Di Rossi who looked so effortlessly elegant in this gown. Not a fan of snakes but the diamante encrusted snake choker – STUNNING!!

Sexy Sirens in Red

 Red

I like the simplicity of these dresses. Ali Larter and Stacy London looked sexy in strapless red but I think the overall look is a little too safe for the Emmy’s.  I also love this plunging neckline cut on Lisa Edelstein.

 

Stunning in Purple

Kimora

I love purple. There’s something sooo alluring about this colour. I totally adore Heidi Klum in Dior Couture, she carried off the dress so perfectly well, matching the self-made earrings and the side-swept messy hairdo. I wish I have their kind of height too. Coz when I wear purple with my height and size, I look like a walking brinjal.

Heidi Klum

 

Elegant in Black

Black

Most people would say black is boring but I do believe it is still the ultimate colour of choice that can never go wrong. These are my top 3 favourite cuts for that evening, although I also like the simple Bottega Veneta strapless dress that Sandra Oh was wearing.

 

Pretty in Pastel and White

Pastel or White

Both Rebecca Romijn and Marcia Cross looked so classic and feminine, almost Greek Goddess-like in these dresses. On the other hand, Rosanna Tavarez and Lisa Rinna looked seductively sexy in white.

White

 

Blinging Loud in Kaufman Franco

Eva 

Eva Longoria never fails to deliver at the red carpet, but how many of us mere mortals can carry off this heavily sequined dress. Actually, I was more interested in that nude pair of heels she wore to compliment her gorgeous gold dress. And apparently during a brief interview with Ryan Seacrest at the red carpet, she mentioned that the purse in her hand is actually a hard casing box.

 

Foxy Felicity in Pink

My favourite of them lot that night is Felicity Huffman. For someone her age, she looked absolutely stunning in shocking pink with a plunging neckline and a cut that showed off her amazing bod.

Felicity Huffman 

 

Didn’t fancy the dress that Debra Messing wore to the Emmy’s but totally dig her gorgeous earrings. I also love Jennifer Love Hewitt’s bed hair and diamond necklace. I like how Marcia Cross matched a bright turqoise gem earrings to her otherwise pale skin and dress.

AccessoriesMarcia’s Earrings

 

If only there is an award for best cleavage …

Best Cleavage

 

 

Entry filed under: Celebrity Style Watch, Celebrity-inspired.

A Tribute to Luciano Pavarotti Groovy Couples, Groovy Dance Moves

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Expression of the Day

I feel more alive when I’m writing than I do at any other time —except when I’m making love. Two things when you forget time, when nothing exists except the moment—the moment of writing, the moment of love. That perfect concentration is bliss. - May Sarton -

Recent Posts

*photos have been edited to feature shots relevant to the topics discussed. To view actual portfolio in hi-res, please click on photographers' link or give us a call.

Blog Stats

  • 129,174 hits

